Omega 3 Fish Oil Capsules: Read the Label First

Compared on published specifications, rating and review volume. Nothing here was tested by hand. How we work →

We may earn a commission when you buy through the links on this page. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

PikVex Quick Summary

The big milligram number on omega 3 fish oil capsules is usually the wrong one. How to compare EPA and DHA properly, plus 4 bottles held side by side.

Our Top Picks:
🥇NOW Supplements4.7
🥈NOW Supplements4.8
🥉Qunol Ultra Omega-3 Fish Oil Mini4.6
🏆View Our #1 Pick on Amazon
Omega 3 Fish Oil Capsules: Read the Label First

Four bottles of omega 3 fish oil capsules, and the one with the biggest number on the front is not the one with the most omega-3 per softgel. That is the whole problem with this category in one sentence. "2000mg per serving" and "1000mg EPA + DHA" are measuring two different things, and only one of them is the thing you are actually buying.

If you want the short answer: the NOW Supplements Omega-3 180 EPA / 120 DHA, 200 softgels is our pick, and it wins on the one spec that is unambiguous. It is the only bottle of the four that prints the EPA and DHA split right in the product name. It is also the cheapest of the four and carries the highest softgel count. You know exactly what you are getting per capsule before you click, which is more than the other three offer.

The rest of this is the part nobody puts on the label: how to turn these numbers into a comparison you can trust, where the published data stops, and which of the four is most likely to be misread by the person buying it.

How we chose these

Nobody here has swallowed one of these softgels. This is a desk comparison, and the honest version of that is worth stating plainly: we compared the published listing specs (stated milligrams, softgel count, form, any stated process such as molecular distillation), the star ratings, and the price standing of each bottle relative to the others in the set.

One limitation matters more than the others. The listing snapshot we worked from shows star averages for all four (4.7, 4.8, 4.6, 4.8) with no visible rating count attached. A star average without a count is close to useless as a tiebreaker. A 4.7 built from 75,000 ratings is a far stronger signal than a 4.8 built from 200, because the second one can be moved half a star by twenty people having a bad week. So we have not ranked these on their tenths of a star, and you should not either. Check the count on the page before you let a 0.2 difference decide anything.

We also cannot tell you what any of these do inside a human body, and we are not going to try. Dose, form, count, certification claims and price standing are fair ground. Everything past that is between you and someone with a medical license.

The number on the front is the wrong number

Fish oil labels run two scales side by side and rarely explain which is which.

Total fish oil is the weight of the oil in the softgel. That is where headline figures like 1000mg or 2000mg usually come from. It is the biggest number available, so it goes on the front of the bottle.

EPA and DHA are the two long-chain omega-3 fatty acids inside that oil, and they are the reason anyone buys fish oil at all. In a standard concentration, a 1000mg fish oil softgel carries roughly 300mg of combined EPA and DHA. The other 700mg is other fats. A concentrated oil packs more EPA and DHA into the same volume, which is what "ultra" and "triple strength" are pointing at.

So here is the comparison that actually works, in four steps:

  1. Find the EPA and DHA figures on the supplement facts panel, not the front label. Add them together. That is your real dose per serving.
  2. Check how many softgels make up that serving. This is where most cost comparisons fall apart. A bottle advertising 1000mg EPA + DHA per serving may be counting two softgels toward that number, which halves the bottle's lifespan against a single-softgel serving.
  3. Divide the softgel count by the softgels per serving to get servings per bottle. Multiply by your combined EPA and DHA figure. Now you have total grams of omega-3 in the container.
  4. Take the live price on the product page and divide by that total. Cost per gram of EPA and DHA is the only number that lets you compare a 180-count concentrate against a 250-count standard oil. Prices move daily, so do this at the moment of buying, not from an article.

Run that math and the ranking of any four bottles frequently inverts. The premium concentrate sometimes wins because you take one softgel instead of three. Sometimes it loses badly.

Best value: NOW

Our Rating: 4.7/5

This is the plainest listing of the four and that is exactly why it is our pick. Omega-3 180 EPA / 120 DHA means 300mg of combined omega-3 per softgel, stated in the title, no interpretation required. The other three bottles all make you open the supplement facts panel to learn something this one tells you upfront.

At 200 softgels it has the second-highest count in the set and the lowest price standing, which means the cost per gram of EPA and DHA math is very likely to land in its favour even against the concentrates. The counterintuitive part: the bottle with the least omega-3 per capsule is also the most flexible. Small increments are easier to adjust than large ones, and at 300mg per softgel you can move a dose up or down in steps the concentrated products cannot match.

What impressed us

  • EPA and DHA declared in the product name, the only one of the four to do it
  • 200 softgels, the second-largest count here, from the lowest price tier of the group
  • Standard-strength oil at 300mg combined omega-3 per softgel, which is the industry baseline and easy to compare against any other bottle on the shelf
  • Fine-grained dosing: one softgel is a small enough unit to adjust without splitting anything
  • Prime eligible, like all four here

Where it falls short

  • A standard 1000mg fish oil softgel is physically large, and swallowing difficulty is the single most common complaint across this entire product category
  • To reach the combined omega-3 figure that concentrated products hit in one or two softgels, you take three or four of these, so the 200 count shrinks fast at higher doses
  • No third-party purity certification appears in the listing summary we worked from, and neither "molecularly distilled" nor an IFOS mark is stated on this one
  • The 4.7 average arrives without a visible rating count in our snapshot, so treat it as unverified until you check the page

Check current price on Amazon

The premium option: NOW

Our Rating: 4.8/5

Same brand, roughly double the price standing of the entry bottle, 20 fewer softgels. The case for it rests on two words: molecularly distilled. That is a purification process used to strip heavy metals and other contaminants out of the oil, and it is also the step that concentrates EPA and DHA into a smaller volume. It is a real manufacturing distinction, not a marketing word.

What we cannot do from the listing summary is tell you the EPA and DHA split, and that is a genuine gap. "Ultra" implies a concentrate, concentrates usually run well above the 300mg per softgel baseline, and if this one does then the effective cost per gram may sit closer to the entry bottle than the price gap suggests. Verify the panel before you pay double. If the concentration turns out to be modest, the cheaper NOW bottle wins outright and the premium becomes a purity purchase rather than a dose one.

What impressed us

  • Molecular distillation is stated on the listing, the only processing claim of the four
  • Higher concentration means fewer softgels for the same combined omega-3, which is the practical answer for anyone who finds large capsules hard going
  • Highest star average in the set alongside the Nature Made at 4.8
  • Same brand as our value pick, so the two are directly comparable on a shelf without switching manufacturers

Where it falls short

  • The EPA and DHA figures are not in the listing name, so the central spec is hidden behind a click
  • Roughly twice the entry model's price standing for 20 fewer softgels, a gap that only makes sense if the concentration is high
  • Molecular distillation is a process claim, not an independent lab certification, and the two are not the same thing
  • Star average again unaccompanied by a visible count in our data

Check current price on Amazon

The honest label: Qunol

Our Rating: 4.6/5

Qunol prints "1000mg EPA + DHA" rather than a total fish oil figure, and that deserves credit. It is the harder number to make look impressive and the only one that means anything. Alongside that, the softgels are described as mini, which addresses the loudest recurring complaint in this category head on.

The catch sits in the phrase "per serving". Mini softgels cannot physically hold 1000mg of concentrated omega-3 each, so the serving here almost certainly comprises more than one capsule, and the listing summary does not say how many. That single missing figure changes the servings-per-bottle math on a 180-count container by a factor of two or three. It is also the lowest-rated of the four at 4.6, which we would normally wave away as noise, except that mini softgels and the oxidation complaints that follow smaller capsules are worth reading the critical reviews about specifically.

What impressed us

  • Headline figure is combined EPA and DHA, not total fish oil, which is the more honest way to label omega 3 fish oil capsules
  • Mini softgel format directly targets the swallowing complaint that dominates negative reviews of standard 1000mg capsules
  • 1000mg combined per serving is a high stated figure by the standards of this set
  • Second-cheapest price standing of the four

Where it falls short

  • Softgels per serving is not stated in the listing summary, which leaves the most important cost calculation unfinished
  • If a serving is three minis, the 180 count delivers only 60 servings, fewer than half of what the entry NOW bottle can stretch to
  • Lowest star average here at 4.6, and worth checking whether critical reviews cluster on the capsules or the oil
  • No purity process or certification stated in the listing summary

Check current price on Amazon

Biggest count: Nature Made

Our Rating: 4.8/5

250 softgels is the largest bottle in this comparison, and 4.8 ties the highest average. Nature Made is also the brand in this group most likely to carry a USP verification mark, though we will not claim it for this specific listing because the summary in front of us does not state one. Check the product page.

Now the part that needs saying. "2000mg per serving" is a total fish oil figure, and it is the number in this group most likely to be misread as an omega-3 dose. Two thousand milligrams of standard-strength fish oil works out to roughly 600mg of combined EPA and DHA, which is a perfectly reasonable serving but is not 2000mg of anything a buyer cares about. It also means a serving is two 1000mg softgels, so a 250-count bottle is 125 servings. Big bottle, ordinary math. The headline is doing more work in the marketing than in the supplement facts panel.

What impressed us

  • 250 softgels, the largest count in this set by 50
  • 4.8 average, tied for the highest here
  • Middle price standing, so the per-softgel figure is competitive against the two concentrates
  • Widely stocked mainstream brand, which makes label verification and batch complaints easy to research before buying

Where it falls short

  • The 2000mg headline is total fish oil, not EPA and DHA, and the listing does not correct that impression
  • A two-softgel serving of standard 1000mg capsules means both the size complaint and the swallow count work against it
  • No concentration or distillation claim stated, so it competes on count rather than on quality of oil
  • Rating count not visible in our snapshot, same caveat as the other three

Check current price on Amazon

Side-by-side comparison

ProductBest forKey strengthRatingPrime
NOW Omega-3 180 EPA / 120 DHA, 200 softgelsValue and dose controlEPA/DHA stated on the label, 200 count, lowest price tier4.7/5Yes
NOW Ultra Omega-3 Molecularly Distilled, 180 softgelsFewer softgels per doseOnly stated purification process in the set4.8/5Yes
Qunol Ultra Omega-3 Mini Softgels, 180ctTrouble swallowing large capsulesMini format, 1000mg combined EPA + DHA stated4.6/5Yes
Nature Made Fish Oil 2000mg, 250 softgelsLongest-lasting bottleLargest softgel count here4.8/5Yes

What to look for (buying guide)

Combined EPA and DHA per softgel, not per serving

Per-serving figures are elastic because the manufacturer chooses the serving size. Per-softgel is fixed. Convert everything to per-softgel before comparing, and the marketing advantage of a large headline number disappears immediately.

Softgel size versus softgel count

These two specs pull against each other and the trade-off is real. Standard 1000mg fish oil capsules are among the largest supplements sold, and difficulty swallowing them is the complaint that recurs most across fish oil reviews generally. Mini softgels solve that and cost you servings per bottle. Pick the problem you would rather have.

Purification and certification are two different claims

"Molecularly distilled" describes something the manufacturer did. An IFOS rating or a USP verification mark describes something an outside body checked. Only one of these four listings states a process, and none of the four summaries we worked from states an independent certification. If third-party testing matters to you, look for the mark on the page itself rather than inferring it from the brand.

Form: triglyceride versus ethyl ester

Concentrated fish oils are commonly re-esterified during processing, and the resulting form is listed on some labels and not others. None of these four state it in the summary data. It is one of the details that separates a premium bottle from a mid-tier one, and its absence from a listing is worth noticing.

Rating counts before rating averages

The same principle we applied to magnesium supplements and to multivitamins applies here. Sort by number of ratings, then look at what the one-star and two-star reviews say. In fish oil specifically, the critical reviews cluster around three things: capsule size, taste or smell on opening a bottle, and softgels sticking together. That third one is a storage and freshness issue and it tells you more about a batch than any average does.

Common mistakes

Comparing bottles by fish oil milligrams. You are buying EPA and DHA. Do the conversion.

Assuming a serving is one softgel. On two of these four bottles it almost certainly is not, and that assumption can double your real cost per gram without you noticing.

Buying the biggest bottle available. A 250-count container is only good value if you get through it before the oil degrades. Fish oil is a polyunsaturated fat and it oxidises, which is why storage guidance matters and why a smaller bottle you finish beats a large one that sits in a warm cupboard for a year.

Treating a 0.2 star gap as meaningful. Across these four, the spread runs 4.6 to 4.8, which is well inside the range where sample size explains everything.

Budget breakdown

Lowest outlay: the NOW Omega-3 180 EPA / 120 DHA. Cheapest of the four, 200 softgels, and the only one whose omega-3 content is legible before you open the page. For most buyers this is genuinely good enough, and the more expensive options need to justify themselves against it rather than the other way around.

Middle tier: Nature Made at 250 softgels, or Qunol if capsule size is the deciding factor. The Nature Made gives you the most capsules; the Qunol gives you the easiest ones to take. Neither is a large step up in oil quality on the evidence available.

Top tier: NOW Ultra Omega-3, at roughly twice the entry bottle's price standing. Worth it if the supplement facts panel confirms a genuinely high concentration, because then you are paying for fewer softgels and a stated purification process. Not worth it on the strength of the word "ultra" alone.

Common questions

Is 1000mg of fish oil the same as 1000mg of omega-3?

No, and this is the single most consequential misunderstanding in the category. A 1000mg standard-strength fish oil softgel typically contains around 300mg of combined EPA and DHA. The remainder is other fatty acids. Concentrated oils shift that ratio, which is why a smaller softgel can sometimes carry more omega-3 than a larger one.

Why do two of these four not list EPA and DHA on the front?

Because the total fish oil figure is bigger and reads better in a search result. The Qunol listing leads with combined EPA and DHA, which is the harder sell and the more useful number. That is a point in its favour regardless of how the rest of the comparison lands.

Do mini softgels hold less omega-3?

Per capsule, yes, unless the oil is concentrated to compensate. That is why the Qunol serving size question matters so much: mini format plus a 1000mg combined EPA and DHA claim means multiple capsules per serving, and the listing summary does not tell us how many. It is the one figure we would most want filled in across this whole set.

Does molecular distillation make a bottle worth twice the price?

It is a legitimate purification step, but it is a manufacturer claim rather than an independent test result. If the same listing also showed a high EPA and DHA concentration per softgel, the premium would make more sense, because you would be buying fewer capsules as well as a cleaner oil. On the processing claim alone, the entry bottle is hard to argue against.

How should these be stored?

Cool, dark and sealed, and finish the bottle in a reasonable timeframe. Oxidation is the mechanism behind most complaints about smell in fish oil reviews, and heat and light accelerate it. A large count is only a saving if the contents stay in good condition to the last softgel.

Which of these four is the safest default purchase?

The entry NOW bottle, on transparency more than anything. You know the dose per capsule, the count is high, the price standing is the lowest, and nothing about the listing requires interpretation. The others may be better buys once you have checked their panels, but none of them is a better buy sight unseen.

Why are the ratings so close together?

Fish oil is a commodity ingredient and manufacturing is mature, so the star averages compress. When a whole category sits between 4.6 and 4.8, the average has stopped being a useful discriminator and the text of the critical reviews takes over. Read those instead.

The bottom line

If you want the safest purchase in this set, take the NOW Omega-3 180 EPA / 120 DHA. It is the cheapest, it carries 200 softgels, and it is the only one of the four that states its EPA and DHA split where you can see it before buying. That combination is hard to beat on the published evidence.

If large capsules are the reason your last bottle went unfinished, the Qunol mini softgels are the direct answer, as long as you check how many minis make a serving first. If you want the longest-lasting bottle, Nature Made's 250 count is the biggest here, provided you read the 2000mg figure as total fish oil rather than omega-3. And if the supplement facts panel confirms a high concentration, the NOW Ultra Omega-3 earns its premium by cutting the number of softgels you swallow. Check that panel before you pay double for a word on the front.

Get free shipping on all products above — Try Amazon Prime free for 30 daysTry Free →